ISO 45001:2018 migration guidance

08 June 2018

ISO 45001:2018 structure

ISO 45001:2018 is now based on Annex SL of the ISO Directives, a high-level structure (HLS) which standardises sub clause titles, core text, common terms and core definitions to enhance compatibility and alignment with other ISO management system standards.

Validity of certifications and applications (new users) to OHSAS 18001:2007

The IAF, OHSAS Project Group and the ISO have agreed to a three-year migration period from the publication of ISO 45001:2018 on 12th March 2018. Therefore, the official status of OHSAS 18001:2007 is considered as being “Withdrawn” taking account the three-year migration period.

The expiry date of certification to OHSAS 18001:2007 issued during the transition period will not extend beyond 12th March 2021 and OHSAS 18001:2007 certifications will not be valid after 12th March 2021.

CARES has been encouraging applicants (new users) to implement ISO 45001:2018 and will not accept applications to OHSAS 18001:2007 after December 2019.

Organisations using OHSAS 18001:2007

The approved firms using OHSAS 18001:2007 are recommended to take the following actions at an early stage:

a)    Obtain a copy of ISO 45001

b)    Identify gaps in the organisation’s OH&S Management System which need to be addressed to meet any new requirements.

c)    Develop an implementation plan.

d)    Provide appropriate competence and awareness training for all parties that have an impact on the effectiveness of the organisation’s OH&S Management System.

e)    Update the existing OH&S Management System to meet the new requirements and provide verification of its effectiveness.

f)     Liaise with CARES for migration arrangements

CARES Approach to the Migration and Timetable

ISO 45001:2018 introduces a number of new requirements and CARES needs to ensure that each approved firm has made any necessary adjustments and additions to processes and competences to take account of these changes. The transition process consists of:

a)    May 2018 - Accreditation scope extension assessment was implemented by UKAS.

b)    June 2018 - UKAS Accreditation processes expected to be completed 

c)    June 2018 - December 2018 – Approved firms will complete transition gap analysis and send to CARES.

d)    January 2019 - December 2020 – CARES will conduct transition assessments at the time of approved firm’s annual surveillance or recertification audit. Extra time will be applied to client visits for the migration to ISO 45001.

Please do not hesitate to contact C. Bahadir Karadayi, should you require any further information.